Poem about friendship

This poem was inspired by a friendship that was very special. I am not sure if I will ever be privileged with another the like in my life. Nevertheless, I am very grateful that it happened and has lived in my memory, fresh enough for me to write about the emotions accurately.

“Chalk and cheese, please”

This treasured person I call my dealer,

Does not dim the lights of my mind with poison flowers,

But soothes my soul with the balm of kind words,

An unexpected and welcome healer.

No intoxicating powder, no promises or power,

Or having to hide my flaws and scars with concealer.

That thing we share between us,

The thick, misty substance,

Is the essence of our souls that mark us as kindred,

To part us would take more than one man,

More than one hundred.

Even the swarthy sea between us is no frontier,

Because I see you plainly on the other side,

And I know you see me,

Your grin sweet and wide.

I dance to the drummer and you dance to some fiddle,

And the two tunes collide somewhere in the middle.

We both nod our heads,

And instead of fighting, we hug each other instead.

It was your difference that drew me to you,

As soon as the tips of our fingers touched, we flew,

In my view.

I don’t know if it was the same for you.

I may not like all you say,

But I know every bit of it to be true.

I am honoured that you trust in me,

And that I belong to the precious few.

There are none who can distinguish the colours in the glue,

That has ever resplendently reverberated in the seal between me and you.

Louella Mahabir

15th. April, 2012.

~ by louella001 on April 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
